## I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2005 (FIRST) Regular Session

**Executive Committee Resolution No. 66** 

Introduced by:

F. B. Aguon, Jr.
J. M.S. Brown
Edward J.B. Calvo
B. J.F. Cruz
Mike Cruz
Mark Forbes
L. F. Kasperbauer
R. Klitzkie
L. A. Leon Guerrero
J. A. Lujan
A. B. Palacios
R. J. Respicio
Ray Tenorio
A. R. Unpingco
J. T. Won Pat

Relative to honoring, commending and congratulating the Guam Bayanihan Sports Association on its 30<sup>th</sup> Anniversary and for all its dedication, support and contribution in creating a sports environment for the Filipino Community and promoting brotherhood and friendship; and further extends un dångkolo na si Yu'os ma'åse and maraming salamat po for its continuing commitment and dedication to the Filipino Community of Guam and the people of Guam.

1	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
2	MINA BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
3	WHEREAS, the Guam Bayanihan Sports Association (GBSA) was
4	incorporated in 1974 as a non-profit organization. The organization promoted
5	basketball for the Filipino Community, and created the "Philippine
6	Independence Basketball Tournament"; and
7	WHEREAS, to participate in this prestigious basketball league, the
8	individual had to have at least thirty percent (30%) Filipino blood; and
9	WHEREAS, the organization, through the basketball league, served as
10	a source of pride for many in the island's Filipino Community, and has done
11	much to help newcomers to the island feel at home; and
12	WHEREAS, the Guam Bayanihan Sports Association has exhibited
13	positive ideals to its members, players and the community, and has
14	encouraged support, goodwill and good sportsmanship throughout the years;
15	and
16	WHEREAS, in the early 1980's, the Philippine Independence
17	Basketball Tournament became recognized as the Philippine Amateur
18	Basketball League (PABL); and
19	WHEREAS, for the last decade, the organization, which now consists
20	of the following Board Members for 2005: Ebbs Baldoz, Cynthia Moises,
21	Connie Toledo, Fe Singh, Lody Saitanan, Precy Dauglash, Nelie Pascual,

Annie Tanedo and Shirley Trinidad, along with the Officers: Bobby Zamora,

1 President; Jimmy Asperas, Vice President; Roma Basa, Secretary; Diony 2 Tanedo, Treasurer; Ebbs Baldoz, Assistant Treasurer; Baby Asperas, Auditor; 3 Cynthia Moises, Assistant Auditor; Glenda Mitchell, Public Relations Officer; Connie Toledo, Public Relations Officer II; Phil Mitchell, Business Manager; Fe 4 Singh, Assistant Business Manager; and Peace Officers, Dan Romulo, Mar 5 Moises, Lody Saitanan, and Precy Dauglash, decided that the league will give 6 an opportunity and lend support to all the sportsmen on Guam and help 7 8 foster a better relation between all races that live on Guam; and 9 WHEREAS, the PABL is now open to people of various ethnic 10 backgrounds that want to play competitive basketball, and has become the island's biggest varsity league. The PABL's goals will continue to be to excel 11 at basketball and to promote brotherhood and friendship among the 12 13 participants and among the people of Guam; now, therefore, be it 14 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Ocho Na 15 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, honor, commend and congratulate the Guam Bayanihan 16 Sports Association on its 30th Anniversary and for its dedication, support and 17 contribution to creating a sports environment for the Filipino Community and 18 19 promoting brotherhood and friendship; and further extends un dångkolo na si Yu'os ma'ase and maraming salamat po for its continuing dedication to the 20

Filipino Community of Guam and the people of Guam; and be it further

21

¥ . . . .

1 RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairwoman of the Executive

2 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption

3 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the Guam

4 Bayanihan Sports Association; to the 2005 GBSA Board of Directors and

5 Officers; to the Honorable F. Philip Carbullido, Chief Justice of the Supreme

6 Court of Guam; to the Honorable Madeleine Z. Bordallo, Member of

7 Congress, U. S. House of Representatives; and to the Honorable Felix P.

8 Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE  $27^{\text{TH}}$  DAY OF JULY 2005.

JOANNE M.S. BROWN

Acting Speaker and Acting

Chairwoman, Executive Committee

MIKE CRUZ

Senator and

Acting Secretary of the Legislature